Author Topic: Cannot connect to M&F; Error: Connection Reset  (Read 2772 times)

Insanegame27

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Karma: +7/-3
  • I am the Bopmaster, master of Bops.
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot connect to M&F; Error: Connection Reset
« Reply #15 on: September 07, 2016, 10:02:50 AM »

And it's back:
http://imgur.com/a/KhzRX
Shiny text complete with taking three or four refreshes to load something. Was anything changed within 42 hours ago?
I can't play...


By shiny text I mean that the text isn't the cursive M&F normally uses.
...23 tries at submitting later...
Now I have a mental image of horses lined up in a goods factory, building things on an assembly line.

Andrew

  • Game Master / Lead Developer
  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1831
  • Karma: +75/-8
  • Mildly Amused
    • View Profile
    • Lemuria Community Fan Site
Re: Cannot connect to M&F; Error: Connection Reset
« Reply #16 on: September 07, 2016, 10:27:27 AM »
The game hasn't been updated in a few weeks now. I'm going to give you some basic instructions to check for packet loss, but I will warn you I don't have either of your OS's, so your mileage may vary. These instructions are for your chromebook:

1. Press Ctrl + Alt + T
2. This will open a "crosh shell" in a browser tab
3. Type "ping mightandfealty.com". If this doesn't run for more than 10 lines, "ping mightandfealty.com -n 100".
4. If the first one worked and it's been going for a while, press Ctrl + C.

This will give us a baseline for how well your computer is able to send and receive from whichever of Amazon's cloud servers it serves you mightandfealty.com from. Ideally, the more pings it sends, the better idea we'll have. If you can, post those results here.

If it gives you something like:

Code: [Select]
Ping statistics for 104.28.26.138:
    Packets: Sent = 100, Received = 63, Lost = 37 (37% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 69ms, Maximum = 72ms, Average = 69ms

Then we're dealing with a packet loss issue that your ISP should be able to work out with you. However, before you call them, we're going to do a few more tests, namely:

1. Reopen crosh, if you closed it.
2. Type "tracepath mightandfealty.com"
3. Let it run. Copy and paste it here or to notepad or something.
4. Run it again.
5. Copy it.
6. Do this several more times so you can definitively say where the issue is.

Ideally, this will always run into issues at the same hop, or point in it's journey. When you can be certain, thats when you get ahold of your IP and tell them you're experience packet loss when attempting to access [the IP mightandfealty.com resovles to, it'll show up when you do ping or tracepath] at hop ##.

Edit: ChromeOS is not Windows, tracert does not equal tracepath.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2016, 10:32:17 AM by Andrew »
Standing for the creation of interesting things since Year 1, Week 5, Day 4.
Favorite cold beverage: Strawberry Shake
My hobbies: Fixing computers, video games, anime, manga, some other stuff, sleep (in no particular order)

De-Legro

  • M&F Dev Team
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3129
  • Karma: +105/-55
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot connect to M&F; Error: Connection Reset
« Reply #17 on: September 07, 2016, 12:28:06 PM »
And it's back:
http://imgur.com/a/KhzRX
Shiny text complete with taking three or four refreshes to load something. Was anything changed within 42 hours ago?
I can't play...


By shiny text I mean that the text isn't the cursive M&F normally uses.
...23 tries at submitting later...


That does indeed look like a style issue, like a corrupt or partially downloaded CSS file.
He who was once known as Blackfyre