Author Topic: Cliffs  (Read 1064 times)

Tom

  • Head Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6320
  • Karma: +102/-15
    • View Profile
    • Might & Fealty
Cliffs
« on: February 21, 2014, 02:09:42 PM »
I think the cliffs really add something, but... I'm never happy...


Right now, they follow the edges between areas. But they don't have to. I actually do have heightmap data. Does anyone have an idea how to move from there to cliff lines? I can use QGIS or PostGIS to do the heavy-lifting, I basically need the algorithm. Right now, it's very simple: altitude difference > x.



Bubba

  • Guest
Re: Cliffs
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2014, 03:08:58 PM »

You need the magnitude of the gradient between points on the height map? Maybe this, dunno.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sobel_operator


I agree that the cliffs following the borders of each region is not quite as impactful as having cliffs following actual height data inside regions.

Tom

  • Head Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6320
  • Karma: +102/-15
    • View Profile
    • Might & Fealty
Re: Cliffs
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2014, 04:55:22 PM »
That's a start, but:
  • I need it to be configurable
  • It needs to generate linestrings, not points (vector, not raster output).